My personal franchise failures

For those of you that don’t read it, the latest edition of Retro Gamer magazine here in the UK had a massive, 16-page feature celebrating the 30th anniversary of the Final Fantasy series.

Whilst the article was as well-researched and written as most of Retro Gamer’s articles, this one really held little interest for me, as I’ve never played a Final Fantasy game – I don’t enjoy RPGs and so the series has never appealed to me.

The article did get me thinking, though, about how many successful, “classic” retro gaming series I’ve not actually played, and there are some pretty big names in there. I’ve already confessed to barely playing any Mario games and the same is true for Sonic. Although I have played both the original and its sequel via emulation, the only Sonic game I’ve played on original hardware is Sonic Colours on the DS.

Similarly, The Otaku Judge recently posted an (as always) excellent review of the new Castlevania TV series, and I had to confess that, once again, I’d never actually played a Castlevania title.

When I stopped to think about it, the list grew longer: I’ve never played an F-Zero game or a Zelda title; Altered Beast and Eternal Champions mostly passed me by. I’ve played the odd bit of Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter, but not a massive amount; MegaMan and BomberMan mostly remain strangers to me and so on. How on earth can I call myself a retro gamer when I have little or no experience of all these classic franchises?

Then it dawned on me how much your choice (or possibly more accurately, your parents’ choice!) of console or computer can impact on what you perceive as “retro games”. Of course, all the games mentioned above are retro games and fondly remembered by fans, but they are not titles that would spring to my mind if someone asked me to name some great old titles. Personally (and it’s clear if you look back at this blog’s content) my definition of a “retro game” tends to focus on Commodore 64 and Amiga titles, because these were the computers I had growing up.

Sure, with the advent of emulation, there’s really no excuse for not having played any of these games, but the truth is I often find emulation to be a bit unreliable, fiddly to get up and running properly and, frankly, often not worth the effort it takes. Whilst I’m not a purist, I do generally prefer playing on the original hardware because (providing you have the funds!) since it tends to produce a more reliable experience. And because (sadly), I have pretty limited funds, I tend to stick to collecting platforms and games that I already know, rather than branching out into new and (for me) untried areas.

So come on, time to ‘fess up. I’ve admitted to my shameful failings so now it’s your turn. What classic retro franchises have you never (or hardly ever) played?

2 thoughts on “My personal franchise failures

  1. Thank you for giving my Castlevania review a shout out. Wow, those are some really big names you haven’t played. It’s understandable though given that you are more of a home computer player. What famous games have I missed out on? I have never played Myst.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

